Do you know the entry requirements for Rwandan travelers? Are you planning a safari to the land of a thousand hills and wondering what is required to cross the borders of the country? Well, just like most countries, you will need a visa and passport to achieve your dreams of exploring some of the wonders of the destination, unless if you are from a Visa exempt country.

Therefore, travel requirements for tourists visiting the land of a thousand hills include;

Health requirements

It is a requirement for travelers to present a valid World Health Organization (WHO) inoculation certificate against major diseases such as yellow fever. In most cases, tourists are informed in advance in case of any disease outbreaks, especially for Ebola cases.


Most tourists are required to possess valid passports for 6 months from the date of entry into the country. Not only that, one of the passport pages has to be blank for entry stamps. Three types of passports are always issued by the Directorate General of Immigration and Emigration and these include the ordinary, additional, service and Diplomatic passports.


Tourists will also be required to present Visas before entering the country. However, citizens from Visa exempt countries such as Uganda, Kenya, South Sudan, Tanzania and Burundi are exempt for 6 months as well as Citizens of Senegal, Benin, Guinea, Indonesia, Ghana, Philippines, Central African Republic, Haiti, Mauritius, Seychelles, Chad, Singapore and Democratic Republic of Congo  are exempt for only 90 days (3 months).

Visas can be obtained upon entry into the country at Kigali International Airport as well as the border points or in advance at any of the Rwandan foreign embassies or can be simplified through online application by visiting A Rwandan Visa costs only $30 for the Transit and entry visas, $50 for tourist and family visas but you can actually apply for an East African tourist visa at only $100 and this allows you to cross the borders of Uganda, Kenya and Rwanda with a single visa. Not only that,  single entry visas are valid for 30 days while the multiple entry and tourist visas are valid for 90 days.

Interestingly, you are allowed three working days for processing your visa and with the effect of 1st January 2018, tourists from all countries will start getting visas upon arrival without prior application.

In case of extension of stay, tourists are advised to apply to the Directorate General of Immigration and Emigration within Kigali City even before the current Visa expires. You will be offered a grace period so that you leave the country for up to five days after the first visa has expired without any penalty. If it goes beyond the five days, you will be fined and also refused any further visa.

Most importantly, there are no currency restrictions for tourists entering and exiting Rwanda. However, most tourists to this country usually prefer using US Dollars, Pound Sterling as well as Euros much as whatever currency you use can be converted into the local currency-Rwandan francs. These can be exchanged within Banks and Exchange Bureaus.

For more information on the detailed travel requirements, you can visit the Embassy of Rwanda or Directorate General of Immigration and Emigration website of reach/contact the Embassies of Rwanda or consulate within your country for required tourist information and document requirements for work or residency visas.